Writers write a lot of different things; among them are novels, short stories, essays, journals, blogs, and poems. Even though I am currently working on a series of Young Adult Fantasy novels, I have written other things. I used to write news and feature articles for newspapers and magazines. I also have a number of short stories and poems to my credit.

Poetry was never my forte, but from time to time I was inspired to write some, especially some Haiku style poems. For those who are not familiar with Haiku, it is a form of poetry originating in Japan. It has very strict structure, and consists of seventeen syllables, broken into three lines. The first line has five syllables, the second line has seven, and the third line has five. Punctuation and capitalization is not regulated by normal rules of grammar, and Haiku rarely employs rhyme. Traditional Haiku should evoke images of the natural world, which is one of the reasons I am so drawn to the form. I do, however, appreciate other forms of poetry as well.
That brings me to one of the nicest outcomes of participating in the Platform Challenge (#platchal) back in October. Through that endeavor, I have come to know a number of writers through their platforms. Consequently, there are some new blogs I have discovered and enjoyed. Recently, several of these blogs have featured poetry. I have enjoyed browsing through the finely crafted works of poets I had previously not known. The rich imagery of their work inspired me to dig through my files and resurrect some poetry I had written in years past. In spite of my poetry not being very sophisticated (especially compared to the wonderful works of others I have read recently), I hope you might enjoy reading a few of my poems. They are simple poems, written purely to entertain; they have no deep meaning.

First, some in the style of the Haiku (as per the formula for Haiku, these poems have no titles):

Autumn’s first changeling:
bright orange and gold flapper
among puritans.

 
An eagle soaring,
motionless in the heavens,
floating on his pride.

 
Ebony shadows
slip across the horizon:
Mustangs ride the wind.

 
Fireflies twinkle;
a thousand minuscule stars
light the path to dreams.

 
Raindrops fall, silver,
softly touching golden sands:
nature’s treasures here.

 
Old and tired now,
wrinkled and weary am I.
Winter comes, so blessed.

 
Clouds blacken the sky;
wind whips the rain to frenzy.
Hell’s gates have opened!

 
Rising from the mists,
a stand of silver birches:
phantom sentinels.

 

 

Long, sleek and graceful,
silky and fluffy and warm:
love comes on soft paws.

 

 
Not everything I wrote was in Haiku format. Here are two longer poems, still simple and written solely for entertainment (I won’t bore you with any of my “message” poems):

Night Fears

Shadows steal through moonlit room,
Stairs creak and groan and sigh.
Tree limb taps on window pane
As wind moans through the pines.

Field mice scuttle through dry leaves;
Far off, some dog howls.
Trash cans rattle, curtains rustle,
Imagination growls.

Blood rushes, pounding in your ears,
Mouth grows desert dry.
Horror tiptoes from your heart
Up to strangle your mind.

 

 
Beat of a Different Drummer

It began with a tap, then another;
Mother Nature’s drummer played.
Irregular rhythm, broken meter:
Raindrops through leaves in the glade.

The rhythm was inconstant,
It ebbed and flowed at will;
The meter, very hesitant,
As the drummer tested his skill.

Harder, louder, softer, slower,
A symphony it created!
The drummer was no amateur;
The falling rain syncopated.

Snare, tenor, timpani –
He tried them all for size.
Upbeat, downbeat, offbeat,
The drummer improvised.

The beat of a different drummer.
Performed for inhabitant of forest domain,
And an occasional fool, the philosopher
Who knows not enough to get out of the rain.

 
As I’ve noted, most of my poetry, whether Haiku or some other form, was written in response to nature’s inspiration, or just to entertain. Some of my writer friends have written much deeper poems, using wonderful imagery to powerfully evoke deep emotions or examine difficult situations. I have provided some links here, if you would care to go visit their blogs and enjoy their talents:

https://sheepcarrot.wordpress.com/category/writing/poetry/

https://wordjunkie1966kimbaileydeal.wordpress.com/2015/12/03/my-voice-my-story/

https://wordjunkie1966kimbaileydeal.wordpress.com/2015/12/04/masks-and-words/

http://www.ghesslaumagrady.com/poetry

http://siroliverofskygatefarm.com/2015/11/29/thanksgiving-harvest-exciting-theatre-in-new-york/ (There’s a nice poem at the end of the blog post here)

http://siroliverofskygatefarm.com/2015/11/21/uninvited-guest-cancer  (There’s a powerful poem at the end of the blog post here)

http://fireflymagazine.weebly.com/issue-23.html (This link is not to a blog, but to a publication that featured 2 poems by one of my #platchal writer friends, DMG Byrnes)

 

 

If you’ve enjoyed my poems, or those of the writers I have shared, feel free to stop back from time to time. We can listen to the rain and write poetry. I’ll keep the porch light on for you.

17 thoughts on “Some poetry this week

  1. “Mustangs ride the wind” – so vivid – “light the path to dreams” – so wishful – thanks for “resurrecting” these poems, and for promoting my blog (and the kind words you said about the poems at the end).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your imagery is spot on. I especially enjoyed each and every Haiku. Have you ever participated in the Writer’s Digest Poem a Day Challenge? I’d love to participate in April, and it would be great to see you there! Keep poeming! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for sharing some of your poetry. There are several here that really strike a chord with me. “The Beat of a Different Drummer” is definitely a favorite of mine, and the haikus “An eagle soaring”, “Ebony shadows”, and “Fireflies twinkle” evoke delightful thoughts and feelings.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. First of all, wonderful post (which I will expand on in a moment). Second of all, DON’T compare! Your work is yours and only yours, it can be *like* others but no one’s but yours and that is amazing. Truly you have some wonderful poetry. I had three favorites from the Haiku’s:
    Fireflies twinkle;
    a thousand minuscule stars
    light the path to dreams.

    Raindrops fall, silver,
    softly touching golden sands:
    nature’s treasures here.

    Clouds blacken the sky;
    wind whips the rain to frenzy.
    Hell’s gates have opened!

    I also really enjoyed The Beat of a Different Drummer. Don’t sell yourself short, Margaret, you’ve got the chops 😉 Now just believe and submit some of these for publishing, they’re wonderful. Write on!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, DMG! I can’t tell you what your support means! While I believe in myself when it is just me talking to and writing for myself, I have always had a fear of sharing with others. I have always felt that my work, particularly my poetry, would not be good enough. Thanks for helping me to believe in myself!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. As writers, we are often our own worst critics, but sometimes we have to tell the voices to shut up because we’re too busy writing to listen. You have it in you all along to do what you want, and believe in yourself, but I’m very happy to be a cheerleader too 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

