Well, either Mr. Brewer is not following my blog, or he is following it, and today’s task is his fiendish response.

The task for day 29 of the 2015 October Platform Challenge is…wait for it… “Join Another Social Media Site.”

Another one? As I asked just yesterday in this blog “how much social media is too much?”

Although I have completed this task – you can now find me at https://www.pinterest.com/margecutter1/ – I really don’t foresee much activity for me on that forum. Enough is enough! I assure you I am not anti-social, I am just too busy!

My frustrations are being echoed across social media by my fellow participants in this challenge. Several people have tweeted or posted that they feel overwhelmed by this challenge, that they don’t know how to manage their social media, and that they don’t know how much time to spend on all these sites.

I have decided that my novels come first – I must spend the bulk of my work day coaxing my characters into revealing themselves, and promising them I won’t feed them all to the dragon if I get frustrated with them. Then, at least once a week, I must craft query letters to carefully researched agents and publishers. I will never achieve my goal of becoming a published author if I am the only one enjoying my characters’ stories.

The time I spend on my “Writer’s Platform,” specifically on the social media portion of the platform, will be a very small portion of my work day. That will change sometime in the future, when I can finally announce the publication of my first novel. Then, the social media will have a more definitive purpose – to help promote the novel and find a larger audience for my writing.

Until then, my apologies to Mr. Brewer, but there is a reason writers need to be coaxed, prodded and dragged into the world of social media. We just don’t have time to be social!

Feel free to stop back from time to time. I’ll keep the porch light on for you. Just don’t trip over any of my characters…and don’t poke the dragon!

6 thoughts on “Join ANOTHER Social Media Site?

  1. hang in there cuz. I do agree with you that you need to concentrate mainly on your writing, especially since I have waited far too long already to get my hands on your books!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Deb! I am going to make a real push in November to finish the first draft of book 3. I am stepping up my efforts to find an agent and/or a publisher for books one and two, also. I sent out three queries today.

      Like

  2. I’ve been enjoying the challenge especially the days where the challenge was something I’d already done! Hmmmm, one more social media site… Instagram is calling me! (But I agree, what I really need to do is get to writing!)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I agree, Marge. I have a hard enough time balancing my personal & work responsibilities with my writing. Keeping up with 4 or 5 different social media outlets can be overwhelming, especially when I don’t have anything published yet. While I have enjoyed the platform challenge & have learned a lot, I’m like you. There comes a time when writing becomes the priority.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Absolutely, Pam. If we spend all our time and energy on social media now, we may never have the opportunity to become published authors. I believe we should keep our hand in it – we don’t want to have to start back at square one once we are published authors – but our main focus must be our writing.

      Like

Leave a Reply

