Day 20 of the 2015 October Platform Challenge, and I have an identity crisis!

Our platform-building task today is to perform a search on ourself, using Google, Bing, Yahoo and other search engines.

This pointed out a big problem I have created for myself. Years ago, when I first started freelance writing, I wrote under the name Margaret Mead Cutter (first name, maiden name, married name). I also, occasionally, wrote as Margaret Cutter or Marge Cutter. I even used a pen name, Pearl Meadows, for some magazine fiction.

Now, (mumble, mumble, mumble) years later, I have re-married after the death of my first husband. My last name is now Tesch. I still have some online accounts, like my e-mail and my Twitter account, under my former name of Cutter. Some accounts, like my Facebook account, list me as Margaret Tesch, aka Marge Cutter. And some of my new accounts, started after I re-married and changed my name, identify me as Margaret or Marge Tesch. My Writer’s Digest account and my blog are under margetesch. But the books I have written in my YA fantasy series are under Marge Cutter.

Oh, boy! Multiple Personality Disorder?

The point is, all my online presence, for the purpose of building a writing platform, should be under one name. I just have to make a decision, and quickly, which name I should use.

Since I did most of my writing under the name Cutter, including the books I am currently writing and attempting to publish, I feel that may be the name by which I need to be known online. But, I am already blogging under the name Tesch. Will I lose my blog readers if I change that?

Feel free to stop back from time to time to see what I have decided – Cutter or Tesch. One of us will keep the porch light on for you.

4 thoughts on “Searching for myself

  1. I can fully appreciate ‘Multiple Personality Disorder’, though my experience is quite different. I have always been a ‘privacy freak’ and with the advent of the Internet, that tendency was magnified a hundred fold. Now I am required to expose myself to public view. Fortuately, I have only one ‘public’ personality. However, I am finding that trying to switch hats (masks?) between my public and private personas is, to say the least, interesting. With no experience similar to yours from which to base a suggestion, I can only offer encouragement. And I’ll continue to stop by whichever name you choose. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Jay! Yes, taking off the mask is intimidating, but I think you are doing an admirable job! Thanks for you comments and your support. They are greatly appreciated!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. What about Cutter/Tesch – these are both well known and therefore no chance of losing Blog readers or potential book readers ! Good luck with whatever you choose.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Unfortunately, Mary, WordPress (where I post my blog) does not allow any characters in the user name except numbers and lower case letters a-z. No spaces, no capital letters, no punctuation. So, Cutter/Tesch would not work.

      Like

Leave a Reply

