Day 19 of the 2015 October Platform Challenge. Where has the time gone?

Today’s task is to research live events. That’s a big task. There are dozens, if not hundreds, of live events for writers, all across the U.S. and around the world. I decided to see if there are any noteworthy events in my own back yard.

It seems that there are several writers groups that meet in the area – unfortunately, usually on days or at times I am not available. But what about something a little bigger?

I found two nearby conferences I would love to attend, if time and money were no problem (which they are, but that’s a subject for another blog…supporting the writing habit).

First, November 5-8, the Grand Marais Art Colony is sponsoring the North Shore Readers and Writers Festival: A Minnesota Voice. It’s full of seminars, workshops and special events. It sounds like a great happening! http://www.grandmaraisartcolony.org/event.cfm?eid=42 

Second, November 13-14, the Loft Literary Center is hosting their Pitch Conference in Minneapolis. A baker’s dozen of agents and editors will be looking to connect with new writing talent, and “each attendee will be guaranteed two 8-minute pitch sessions on Saturday with one of the featured agents and editors.”  That is the place to be that weekend!  Unfortunately, the conference is already sold out, but I will be signing up for their newsletter, so I can plan to attend the next one they sponsor!  https://www.loft.org/programs__awards/educational_programs/writing_conferences/pitch_conference_2015/

I used to shy away from attending such conferences – I did not think I was ready. But now, with two books of my seven-book series and one children’s book completed, I plan on attending a conference like this in the near future. So the research I started for the #platchal task dujour will continue, with emphasis on high-quality local events like these two.

Feel free to stop back from time to time. I’ll keep the porch light on for you.

Leave a Reply

