Time management – my nemesis

Today’s task for the 2015 October Platform Challenge is to create a time management plan.

Back in the day, when I was gainfully employed in retail management, I was so organized it was scary! I maintained monthly, weekly and daily planners. I could tell at a glance where I would be at any given time, on any given day, and what I would be doing there, weeks in advance. I had to juggle store visits, training sessions, district meetings, conference calls, paperwork, employee reviews, travel, and so much more! And, if I had not managed my time efficiently, my district would have fallen apart.

Now I work at home, as an aspiring novelist. I have chapters to complete, editing to do, agents and publishers to research, queries to submit, and a writer’s platform to create and maintain. I also try to take classes, join discussion groups, or participate in other learning exercises, such as the 2015 October Platform Challenge.

As an aspiring author, I will probably never master the level of time management I employed during my tenure as a Retail District Manager. But if I do not manage my time more efficiently than I do at present, my career will fall apart. So today’s task is tailor-made for me!

After giving it a great deal of thought, I decided to return to what worked for me as a manager – the monthly, weekly, and daily planners – and modify them to best serve my current career.

Today’s plan looks a little like this:

8am-10am – check e-mail, respond to anything writing-related; read the WD There Are No Rules blog to get today’s 2015 October Platform Challenge task; work on today’s challenge task.

10am-11am – work on writer’s platform (write and publish today’s blog post; check Twitter and Facebook and make at least one relevant post on each.)

11am-1pm – lunch, personal errands, personal time on social media

1pm-3pm – work on Book 3 of Paths of Destiny

3pm – 5pm – research/query agents and publishers; if time allows, check Twitter and FB again

Not a bad start on today’s task. Like many of the tasks, though, it is not a once-and-done task, but a habit that needs to be developed and nurtured. I will be working a lot more on this from now on.

Feel free to stop back from time to time. I’ll keep the porch light on for you.

5 thoughts on “Time management – my nemesis

  1. Time Management is my crux. There is never enough and it goes to fast when you least want it to. I work full time plus have a teen at home so must fit writing in somewhere during the day. Keep up the great work.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks, Trena! I understand the concept of never enough hours in the day. You would think that I would have plenty of time to work on my writing since I no longer work outside the home. But laundry still needs to be done, meals still need to be prepared, groceries still need to be purchased, and dust bunnies still need to be wrestled into submission a few times a year! Best of luck with your time management, and with your writing!

    Like

  3. Thanks for sharing your plan for today’s time. It’s interesting to hear about your past as a highly organized manager. I too come from a very different office-oriented past. Good luck, and I hope you keep us updated on your progress with this topic! -Jane

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

