Another easy one!

Day 12 of the 2015 October Platform Challenge, and the task dujour is again building on previous tasks. Today, we were tasked to read at least one blog post and comment on it (and in the process link back to our own blog).

Another easy peasy task. (Do people still say that, or am I showing my age?)

There are more than 100 people participating in this 2015 October Platform Challenge, and the presenter provided a nice list of links to each participant’s blog. In no time at all, I was checking out blogs, ready to leave comments. I picked the blogs at random, from all over the list. I checked out about a dozen of them.

I was too intimidated by the first couple of blogs to comment on them. They looked so professional, with nice background, super profile pic, images, videos, links…everything I wish my blog had. (Hey, I’m working on it! I’m a dinosaur, remember? It takes me longer to figure these things out!) But, when I read the latest blog post on a few of these super professional looking blogs, I was surprised. They were all form and no substance. Or, worse, the latest blog post was a year old, or older! Hey, do I have the right blog? Weren’t we all tasked to make blog posts for this challenge? Hmmmm…maybe there’s a typo in the link.

A few of the blogs I checked out dealt with things other than writing, and I skipped over them. I might return and give them a read, if the subject is of interest.

And then, there were a few blogs that really impressed me. I plan on taking a proverbial page out of the book of some of these bloggers. I admire their style, I found their content of interest, and I think I could learn a lot from them.

I soon found one that I could easily relate to, about writing, and avoiding writing, and how to define writing for oneself. I left my comment and a link back to my own blog. Task complete! Excuse me while I go raid the cookie jar. I earned a little treat.

While completing the task today was easy, I’m not going to let it go at just one comment on just one blog. I’m still working my way through the list of blogs. I have a long way to go. I imagine I will find a lot more blogs that I can relate to, that I will follow and comment on, that I will learn from. And learning is the whole point of this challenge, right?

Feel free to stop back from time to time. I’ll keep the porch light on for you.

Leave a Reply

