Day 10, and I need my readers to respond

Well, it is Day 10 of the 2015 October Platform Challenge, and today’s task, should I decide to accept it, is to include a “call to action” in my blog.

This means I can do any or all of a number of things to get my readers more involved.

I can ask my readers for feedback – would any of you be kind enough to leave a comment and let me know what you think of my blog so far? If you do, be honest. If you think it needs improvement, say so. I won’t learn anything if you just tell me what you think I want to hear.

I can link to another article outside my site. I actually did that on day eight. I linked to this article: http://www.writing-world.com/sf/future.shtml. The article is relevant to my blog, since it speaks to the future of Sci-fi/Fantasy, and I am writing (and occasionally blogging about) an envisioned seven-book series of YA Fantasy. It’s nice to know the author of the article thinks the genre will be around for quite a while!

I can link to other posts within my blog. I did that on day one. I linked to my “About Me” page, since I was unable to see any link to it on the blog site. Here it is again, in case you missed it: https://margecutter.wordpress.com/about-me-margaret-tesch/

I can link to my Twitter and Facebook pages: https://twitter.com/margecutter   https://www.facebook.com/margecutter

If you check me out on Facebook, you will probably learn much more about the person behind the blog, the person that is more than just an aspiring author. You can enjoy my nature photography as well. I use a lot of my exposure to and experience with nature in my writing. After all, a writer is supposed to write about what she knows.

So, please check me out on social media, and leave a comment for me here, to let me know if I’m headed in the right direction. And feel free to stop back from time to time. I’ll keep the porch light on for you.

10 thoughts on “Day 10, and I need my readers to respond

  1. Thanks, Marge, for the link to Writing-World.com. I had stumbled across the site previously, but failed to bookmark it at the time. I did not fail this time. I’m looking forward to following your further adventures here.

    Like

  2. I have been enjoying your blog posts. I find them very easy to read which helps me personally remember a bit more about what you wrote about. I really like your tag line “Keep the porch light…” I find that repeated saying help associate the reader with the writer/blogger. Keep up the good work.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Trena! I appreciate your comments. I’m glad you like the tag line – it just something I say to people in person, so I thought it would be nice to use it in the blog.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I love following your blog. With your willingness to expand into blogging and twitter together you’re your writing skills should lead to your goal of finding a publisher. Keeping up with blogging, twitter and FB all take time and hopefully it will lead you to your destination – published fantasy writer.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, Sandee! I am surprised at how much I am enjoying my trek into blogging and Twitter, and talking more about my writing on Facebook – something I only did occasionally in the past, but hope to do more regularly now. Thanks for stopping by and leaving some encouragement! 🙂

      Like

  4. Somehow I missed the launch of this blog and am just catching up. Let me know if you need any help with the technical side of things – I can still drag you kicking and screaming into new areas of technology even if I’m not a pre-teen anymore. 😉 The writing is great, but your blog’s current theme is a bit minimal and it’s lacking a navigation menu that would include links to things like your “about me” page. You might also want to think now about starting a system to categorize and tag your posts so that people can find posts on certain topics again in the future. Right now they’re all uncategorized and with no tags.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Any and all help would be greatly appreciated! Yup, you can still drag me kicking and screaming, probably even better now than when you were a pre-teen!
      I looked and looked for a link to the “about me” page – I thought any and all pages I published would automatically link to the blog – and I still can’t figure it out. As for navigation menu, categories and tags…yeah, you’re speaking a foreign language to this here dinosaur!
      So…we need to set a time when we can “get together” and you can teach me this new language!
      Thanks, and much love!

      Like

Leave a Reply

