It’s never too late…

“It’s never too late to be what you might have been.”

This quote, attributed to Mary Ann Evans (a Victorian writer better known by her nom de plume, George Eliot), gives me hope.

As a (mumble mumble mumble) year old, aspiring toward her sixth major career change, saying that it is not too late gives me the impetus to keep trying.

At one time, when I was active as a freelance journalist, I thought the natural progression for me would be to become a novelist. Then life happened. I had to abandon my writing and follow a different path. I often wonder if I might not be a successful author now, had I been able to continue along that path at an earlier age.

But that does not matter. According to Evans/Eliot, I can still become at this age what I might have been, had not circumstances altered my path. And so, I continue to give voice to the characters and stories that have simmered in my imagination for years. I faithfully record the tales, hoping someday readers will find the same measure of delight in them that I have found. I still aspire to become a published author.

“It’s never too late to be what you might have been.” Aren’t they beautiful words?

If you think you would like to make this journey with me, this trek toward published author, then feel free to stop back from time to time. I’ll keep the porch light on for you.

Leave a Reply

