Did I mention I’m a writer?

I’m a writer. My byline graced a multitude of freelance articles in local, regional and national publications, mostly in the field of equine sports. I had several pieces of magazine fiction published, along with a smattering of poetry. I’m a writer.

Or I was. It seems like ancient history now. Leafing through my two big binders of published work seems like peeking into someone else’s life, someone else’s mind. I am no longer a writer.

No, that’s not true. Although it has been years since I had anything published – since life took an unplanned turn and I was no longer able to travel to events to cover them for publications, or commit to deadlines – I AM still a writer. I still write.

A wise man once told me (as he has told countless others) that if you can stop writing, if you can walk away from it, you are not a writer. If you can’t, you are. I can’t stop. I guess that makes me a writer.

I’m a writer. I no longer write freelance articles and short fiction, although my life has once again changed, permitting me to travel and meet deadlines. These days, I work on my novel-length fiction, giving voice to characters and stories that have simmered in my imagination for years.

I am a writer. I might not add a single word to a manuscript for weeks at a time, but I am still a writer. Not a day goes by that I don’t mentally review my stories to find flaws in the plots, inconsistencies in a character. Not a day goes by that I do not research agents and publishers, often spending as much time on crafting a query letter and synopsis as I do on a chapter of one of my books. Not a day goes by that I do not read something that will help me polish my wordcraft.

I am a writer. I hope readers enjoy what I write, I hope readers find it entertaining. That is the reason I write – to entertain. That, and to stop my characters from haunting me!

I am a writer. And now, I write a blog. If you continue to visit my blog, you may learn more about me, about my stories and my characters. You may smile. You may snort your drink out your nose, laughing. Who knows?

If that sounds appealing to you, feel free to to stop back from time to time. I’ll keep the porch light on for you.

Leave a Reply

